A Liebster Blog Award and link love

The week between Christmas and New Year is waiting week. The one week of the year academia seems to grind fully to a halt. To those people who only ever experience a university during term time it may come as a surprise that university life does not begin and end with freshers weeks and end of term parties. The only time of the year that campus fully stops is the Christmas period; support services shut, the library closes its doors, the shop empties and staff take time off. I’ve never been very good at prolonged holidays. That, combined with the expectation of fresh new year resolutions, always gets me analysing my life come the end of the year.

This year, I announced, I would run. A lot. I would learn maths, I would find a job, I would finish my thesis.

I may stop blogging.

I love to write and I love writing this blog. But I felt I’d reached a point where it wasn’t getting any better or going anywhere. I didn’t want to stop writing, but I was considering branching out and trying to write elsewhere.

Then a comment popped up on my blog; “congratulations, you’ve been nominated for a Liebster Blog Award…” and that just made my day. I’ve seen these awards cropping up on several of the blogs I admire and so it’s a huge honour to be included in this award. Liebster is a German word that means “dearest” and the Liebster Awards celebrate up-and-coming bloggers who have less than 200 followers. The aim is to spread the word about exceptional blogs that deserve more readership, by having each recipient of the Liebster Award highlight five blogs that he or she feels stands out in a crowd.

I was nominated by Mary Bates – a freelance science writer based in Boston. You can see Mary’s Liebster blog post and check out her very interesting blog here – I’m especially interested in her post on naked mole rats.

The rules of receiving a Liebster are as follows:

1. Show thanks to the blogger who gave you the award by linking back to them.
2. Reveal your top 5 picks and let them know by leaving a comment on their blog.
3. Post the award on your blog.
4. Bask in the love from some of the most supportive people on the internet—other writers and artists.
5. And best of all – have fun and spread the karma.

So, without futher ado I’m paying it forwards and here are my 5 nominations (in no particular order):

Seabed Habitats is a new marine science blog focusing on the seafloor. I love how they’re using visual media (especially videos) to grab the public’s attention and also how they’re getting involved in the blogging community. I’m really looking forwards to seeing how this blog progresses in 2012.

The Art in Science produces often-short, always interesting posts on everything and anything that crosses the art/science boundary. A big inspiration when I was finding my feet in that area in terms of blog posts.

Scientific Kitty: where else can you read reviews of science books etc. written by school children? Or film reviews by “Real Life Scientists”. Or find the dates to the lates Edinburgh-based Scientific Kitty quiz night?

Microbelog: now a blog all about microbes might not seem the most exciting place on the web, but I really admire what these guys achieved in 2011. Their posts are always well written and thought out and they combine interesting facts and general knowledge with more in depth scientific discussion.

Moral Coral’s Sarah-Jane is a friend and old housemate of mine. Perhaps I inspired her to blog (does that make me her blogmum?). If so then I am one very proud blog mum! Sarah has a hectic research life so doesn’t get to blog that often, but she has some very interesting posts and some amazing photos.

So Happy New Year everyone! Thanks for reading and I hope you stick with me in 2012.

7 thoughts on “A Liebster Blog Award and link love

  1. Wow, I feel really honoured – thank you very much for your support. I will be picking my top 5 and posting this week. What a great way to get involved and show your appreciation to others int he blogging community.

    The Art in Science
    xx

    • I look forwards to seeing your post and your nominations – it’s always fun to find new blogs to follow (although my thesis may never get finished if I keep finding new blogs to occupy my day!)

  2. Pingback: Liebster Blog Award « Seabed Habitats

  3. Pingback: Liebster Blog Award « Seabed Habitats

Your thoughts...?

